

For more than a century, Tohoku University has been consistently ranked amongst the top academic institutions in Japan. Its research achievements and contributions, coupled with its wide network of collaborative partners, led to it being one of the first institutions to be conferred the status of a Designated National University by the Japanese government in June 2017



Teiji Tominaga

# President

#### Education

April 1976: Entered Tohoku University School of Medicine March 1982: Graduated from Tohoku University School of Medicine

## Professional Qualifications

Obtained his medical license in May 1982

### ■Professional Experience

June 1982, Resident, Tohoku University School of Medicine Feb. 1987, Research Fellow, Membrane Research Institute, Philadelphia, USA (until June 1988)

Sept. 1989, Assistant Professor, Tohoku University School of Medicine

April 1993, Clinical observer, Barrow Neurological Institute, Phoenix, USA (until Sept. 1993)

June 1997, Lecturer, Tohoku University School of Medicine

March 2000, Director, Department of Neurosurgery, Kohnan Hospital (affiliated to Tohoku University Hospital), Sendai, Japan

April 2002, Clinical Associate Professor, Tohoku University School of Medicine

May 2003, Professor, Division of Neurology, Department of Neuroscience and Sensory Organs, Graduate School of Medicine, Tohoku University

April 2014, Deputy Director, Clinical Research Innovation and Education Center, Tohoku University Hospital (until March 2019)

April 2015, Vice President, Tohoku University; Vice Director, Tohoku University Hospital

April 2019, Director, Tohoku University Hospital

April 2023, Executive Vice President for Co-creation Strategy, Disaster Reconstruction and Regeneration, Tohoku University

April 2024, President of Tohoku University

### ∎Award

2013, Info-communications Promotion Month Commendation from the Minister for Internal Affairs and Communications

2014, Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology

2019, Makoto Saito Academic Award from the Japan Neurosurgical Society

2023, Keiji Sano Award from the Japan Neurosurgical Society

■Specialty

Neurosurgery